Return the House of Representatives to the People
return to home page

Paradoxical Presidential
Election Outcomes

There were three Presidents who were properly elected to office (by the Electoral College) even though they lost the popular vote:

  • Rutherford B. Hayes (1876)
  • Benjamin Harrison (1888)
  • George W. Bush (2000)

The results of these three elections are shown in the charts below.


“If a nation expects to be ignorant and free ... 
     it expects what never was and never will be.”

– Thomas Jefferson

Created: 30October2004
© 2004
Web Pamphlet